2017 Hawaii Scholastic High School Chess Champions

We had a record 158 participants in our 2017 State Scholastic Championships on Saturday, March 25th. It was an exciting finish to a great year.

Based on these results, we will be nominating Dylan Tucker to represent Hawaii at the Denker Tournament of State High School Champions, Adriel White to represent Hawaii at the Barber Tournament of State Middle School Champions, and Kate Takenaka to represent Hawaii at the Girls Invitational Tournament of State Champions. All tournaments will be conducted with the US Open in August at Norfolk, VA.

See the attached zip file for complete results, cross tables and prize winners. (Download and open the zip file for the complete set of PDF files).

See a photo gallery from the event on facebook here.

Here’s a summary list of winners:

High School Individual Winners
Co- Champions – Dylan Tucker (1st on tiebreaks) and Hanseong Kim
3rd Place – Patrick Perry

High School Teams:
1st – Mckinley
2nd – Punahou
3rd – Waipahu

Middle School – Individuals

1st – Adriel White
2nd – Gabriel White
3rd – 6th (in order of tiebreaks) – Gyuyun Kim, Ryder Shintaku, Michael Chen and David Qu

Middle School – Teams

1st – Homeschool
2nd – Washington
3rd – Punahou

Elementary School – Individuals

1st – Caleb White
2nd – 5th (in order of tiebreaks) – Mark Chen, Nicholas Chan, Noah Jost and Cale Thompson

Elementary School – Teams

1st – Homeschool
2nd – Punahou
3rd – Maemae

Primary School – Individuals

Co-Champions – Kyle Ching (1st on tiebreaks) and Micaiah White
3rd/4th – Kevin Ching / Tyson Kuo

Primary School – Teams

1st – Homeschool
2nd – Kamehameha
3rd – Punahou

Also, a week earlier, the HCF conducted the annual girls championship.  This event also had a record turnout of 17 girls. Kate Takenaka of Moanalua Middle School emerged with a perfect score to become this year’s champion.

See the attached PDF for complete 2017 Hawaii State Girls Championship PDF Results.